To start poultry farming, you first need to determine the production type of your poultry farm. You can raise broiler chickens for meat production purpose and choose layers if you want to produce eggs commercially. You can also start your poultry farm for selling poultry products and breeding stocks directly to your local customers. Determine your production purpose, select proper poultry breeds according to your desired production and go for the detailed planning.
Which is More Profitable, Layers, Kienyeji or Broilers?
In the chicken industry in Kenya, there are three main sectors: Layers, which are chickens bred and raised to produce eggs, or broilers, chickens raised and bred to be slaughtered meat and the indigenous breeds. Whatever sector you choose, you have to make the right decisions to make your chicken business a profitable one.
I have come across the question of which is the best enterprise between broilers and layers on several different occasions. I will not give a direct answer. However our team did a simple calculation to help you make a decision. Please follow and ask questions if you don’t understand.
- The calculation below is based on feeds only since it contributes to up to 80% of cost of production and does not cover costs of drugs, or building or labor and other overheads.
- It is based on current market price which changes from time to time and should be used as a guide.
Broiler 500 Birds
- Broiler starter costs Ksh 50 per kg fed for the first 3 weeks
- Broiler finisher costs Ksh 45 per kg fed for the remaining next 4 weeks.
- Mature bird is sold at Ksh 400
- Maximum amount of broiler starter given to chicks per day = 100g
- Maximum amount of broiler finisher feed fed to mature birds per day = 180g.
- Cost of feeding broiler starter for 3 weeks = Ksh 52,500
- Cost of feeding broiler finisher for 4 weeks = Ksh 113,400
- Total cost of feeds = Ksh 52500 + Ksh 113400 = Ksh 165,900
- Revenue from Sale of 500 birds = Ksh 200,000
- Gross Margin = Ksh 34, 100.
Profit per month = Ksh 17,050.
Note: If you what to make good money with broiler and kienyeji hens, you need to learn how to formulate and produce feed by yourself instead of buying packed feed from companies.
Layers 500 birds
- Chick mash @ Ksh 45/kg fed from wk 1 to wk 8
- Growers mash @ Ksh 30/kg fed from wk 9 to wk 19
- Layers mash @ Ksh 40/kg fed from wk 20 to wk 84
- One tray of egg sold for Ksh 320.
- Maximum amount of feed fed to chicks per day = 60g
- Maximum amount of feed fed to growers per day=90g
- Maximum amount of feed fed to layers per day=120g
- Cost of feeding Chick mash = Ksh 75,600
- Cost of feeding growers mash = Ksh 103,950
- Cost of feeding layers mash = Ksh 1,092,000
- Total Feed costs = Ksh 1,271,550
- Revenue from sale of eggs.
- Laying percentage =85%
- Total eggs collected for 455 days =193,375
Total crates =6446 × Ksh 320 (cost of one crate) Total revenue = Ksh 2,062,720 Gross margin = Ksh 970,720 Profit per Month = 51,090.
- Rearing layers is profitable in the long run, i.e in the two years.
- You need to plan before investing in layers as your hens will stay for up to 18 weeks before starting laying meaning no revenue.
- Hen can lay continuously up 2 years with average percentage of 85%
- Broilers reach market weight after 2 months.
Also I must say that all breeds (Kienyeji, layers and broilers). I have seen farmers make a lot of money from each breed. How? Their passion and skills of rearing each type of breed has made them succeed.