President Ruto Rewards Political Loyalists in His New Cabinet – See the Full List.

President William Ruto has finally named his new cabinet line-up. Most of the names in today’s announcement are familiar to Kenyans.

They are people who have been either vocal in UDA campaigns or those who were instrumental in the lead-up to the victory of Kenya Kwanza in the August elections.

At the helm of the cabinet is Wycliffe Musalia Mudavadi, aka the Earthquake, who becomes the Chief Cabinet Secretary. Mudavadi was promised the position when he struck a coalition deal between his ANC party and other Kenya Kwanza affiliated parties.

His counterpart Moses Masika Wetangula, aka Papa wa Roma, had already been rewarded the House Speaker position for delivering Western votes to Kenya Kwanza.

Garissa Township MP Aden Duale, Kandara MP Alice Wahome, and Elgeiyo-Marakwet senator Onesmus Kipchumba Murkomen are the only Kenya Kwanza’s elected legislators who have joined the cabinet.

Murkomen is the new Cabinet Secretary for Roads and Transport while Aden Duale is the Cabinet Secretary for Defense. Alice Wahome becomes the Cabinet Secretary for Water and Irrigation.

Other Kenya Kwanza leaders who lost their positions in the August elections have also landed lucrative cabinet positions.

Mithika Linturi, who lost the gubernatorial seat for Meru County to an independent female candidate has been named as the Cabinet Secretary for Agriculture. This position was previously held by the first Meru governor Peter Munya.

Other politicians who lost during the elections and have received the favour to join the cabinet include former UDA gubernatorial aspirants Aisha Jumwa, Moses Kuria and Ezekiel Machogu.

Moses Kuria has been handed the Cabinet Secretary for Investment and Industry while Aisha Jumwa heads Public Service. Ezekiel Machogu is now the Cabinet Secretary for Education, replacing the outgoing CS George Magoha.

Some key individuals who played a key role in Ruto’s campaigns in the August general elections have also joined the cabinet. Kithure Kindiki who lost the Vice President race to Rigathi Gachagua replaces Matiangi as the new Cabinet secretary for Interior and Coordination.

Davies Chirchir, who was accused severally by the opposition for tampering with the IEBC system in the 2017 and 2022 elections has been appointed as the Cabinet Secretary for Energy.

Ababu Namwamba who was heading Ruto’s international relations during campaigns is now the Cabinet Secretary for Sports.

The full list of Cabinet Secretaries is shown below:

Prime Cabinet Secretary – Musalia Mudavadi

  1. Interior – Kithure Kindiki
  2. National Treasury-Njuguna Ndung’u
  3. Public Service and Gender – Aisha Jumwa
  4. Defence – Aden Duale
  5. Water, Sanitation & Irrigation – Alice Wahome
  6. Foreign and Diaspora Affairs -Alfred Mutua
  7. Trade – Moses Kuria
  8. EAC – Rebecca Miano
  9. Roads – Onesmus Kipchumba Murkomen
  10. Lands – Zacharia Mwangi Njeru
  11. Tourism – Peninah Malonza
  12. Agriculture – Mithika Linturi1
  13. Education – Ezekiel Machogu
  14. Energy and Petroleum – Davis Chirchir
  15. Sports – Ababu Namwamba
  16. Cooperatives and MSMEs – Simon Chelugui
  17. Mining – Salim Mvurya
  18. Labour – Florence Bore
  19. Health – Susan Wafula
  20. Communication – Eliud Owalo
  21. Environment & forestry – Roselinda Soipan Tuya

Attorney General – Justin Muturi

National Security adviser – Monica Juma

Secretary to the cabinet – Mercy Wanjau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *